You are here:Committees  >  Safety

About the Safety Committee

The Airline Pilots Association (ALPA) Safety Committee works directly with their counterparts in the Spirit Airlines Safety Department. Our mission is to monitor all aspects of safety within the airline's daily operations, and ensure the safety and well being of our members and other work groups. The Safety Committee is comprised of several sub-groups, all working on various aspects of operational safety. Each group performs root-cause analysis and risk assessment within their specific focus area, and determines if changes are needed. The method of continuous improvement keeps the safety culture at the forefront and mitigates those hazards which have been identified and analyzed.

 

The basic structure of the committee is as follows:

 

Committee Chairman/Vice-chairman oversee the ALPA Safety Committee and sub-groups.

 

Aviation Safety Action Program (ASAP) and Event Review Committee (ERC): Review ASAP reports and provide guidance or corrective measures on both individual incidents and systemic issues that are identified within each report.

 

Flight Operation Quality Assurance (FOQA): The FOQA team (FMT) works in conjunction with the Spirit Safety Department FOQA Analyst looking at aggregate data and trending information regarding how our aircraft are being flown in day to day operations. The FMT additionally makes recommendations to the Spirit Flight Operations or Training Department on which procedures to change that will yield better or desired results

 

Fatigue Risk Management Plan (FRMP) and Fatigue Management Committee (FMC): The committee reviews all reports from flight crew members who either removed themselves due to fatigue concerns, or other external influences which attributed to pilot fatigue. The FMC  determines the causal factors on why fatigue occurred, and provides guidance on changes  necessary to mitigate future events

 

Accident Investigation: The team works directly with Spirit Airlines and the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) to identify and determine contributing factors for any aircraft incident or aircraft accident investigations.

 

The Spirit MEC Accident Investigation Committee is part of the MEC Safety Committee and is primarily made up of two full time members, the Chief Accident Investigator and the Assistant Chief Accident Investigator. Individual Safety Committee members who have also received the ALPA accident investigation training may assist in any open accidents or incidents occurring at the airline, depending on the size of the investigation.

 

The Accident Investigation Committee requests to be party to and assist with accidents or incidents being investigated by the NTSB.

 

If you are involved in an accident or incident, once the passengers, crew, and aircraft are safe and secure, please reference the ALPA 'Orange Card', calling the phone number listed and follow the guidance printed on the card.

 

Contact Us

SPAsafety@alpa.org

ALPA Emergency Accident/Incident Hotline

 703-892-4180

Safety Committee

Name Role Email Phone
Andy Bowland DFW Safety Representative andy.bowland@alpa.org 269-274-5415
David Blake Accident Investigation Committee Member david.blake@alpa.org 678-516-3919
Jeff Perin Asst. Chief Accident Investigator jeff.perin@alpa.org 734-730-6791
Kevin Slovinski ASAP Committee kevin.slovinski@alpa.org 561-512-6002
Mariko Doskow ORD Safety Representative mariko.doskow@alpa.org 415-823-2431
Matt Gorshe Accident Investigation Committee Member matt.gorshe@alpa.org 954-609-7280
Matt Green Central Air Safety Chairman matt.green@alpa.org 610-428-3073
Michael Duailibi ASAP ERC michael.duailibi@alpa.org 954-294-2307
Mike Traad FOQA Gatekeeper mike.traad@alpa.org 832-654-0333
Mike Wickboldt Chief Accident Investigator mike.wickboldt@alpa.org 210-882-0990
Randy Symanski Fatigue Risk Mgt. Committee randy.symanski@alpa.org 321-917-1515
Richard Terasaki Safety Committee Vice Chair and Fatigue Committee richard.terasaki@alpa.org 815-670-5148
Scott Becker Accident Investigation Committee Member scott.becker@alpa.org 262-853-9472
Shawn Abinet FOQA Gatekeeper shawn.abinet@alpa.org 810-820-0058
Safety Links

 

SPA MEC Facebook SPA MEC Twitter SPA MEC Flickr SPA MEC InstagramALPA YouTube SPA ASAP SPA Safety Report File an Fatigue Report Part 117 Guide KCM information ALPA PAC 

 

Home   |   Committees   |   SPA Documents